The dark of winter approaches…

A month ago, I was more optimistic that I would complete my first full novel by Christmas… It’s harder to remain hopeful in the demands of work and home, particularly when the sun disappears earlier and the temperature is dropping.  Also, there’s normally about six inches of snow on the ground at this point, and it’s grey and rainy instead… the opposite of inspiring.  I wish to hibernate instead.  But writing this for you, dear Internet, renews me a little – makes me want to dive back into Rayvin’s story.  But when I have papers to mark, and a house to clean, and children to feed, the writing cannot be a priority, which is my biggest frustration.  And I have more ideas to pursue, as well, for other novels and short stories.  When to find the time!

I’m also trying to be optimistic, remembering that in only six months, my first novella will be published in the Vampire Thirsts Anthology by Melange…  sometimes, it seems so very far away.  I pull out my contract and look at it again, to remind myself.

I recently watched through the whole Avatar: The Last Airbender series, and my family and I have now become hooked.  It’s such a fantastic series – truly epic, ageless, and appealing to all ages.  I want to write like that.

Leave a Reply

