Prince Humperdink & Count Rugen – were they gay lovers?

I was watching the Princess Bride again, and I was finally able to articulate – after twenty-odd years of frequent viewings – a suspicion I have held all along:  that the evil Prince and the Six-Fingered Man were lovers.  My husband thinks I am over-analyzing, but think about it:  they refer to each other familiarly, remarking on concern for each other’s health, in deeply personal tones and facial expressions; Humperdink clearly does not love or have any attraction for his fiance, the Princess Bride / Buttercup – we never see him kiss her or show any affection towards her.  He’s more affectionate toward the Count!  Yes, I’m overthinking it, but it would certainly add another layer to the story, wouldn’t it?

9 thoughts on “Prince Humperdink & Count Rugen – were they gay lovers?

  1. Adam says:

    This is so true. My friend and I thought the same thing!! I think it’s hilarious, because I never thought of all the adult references when I was a kid.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly says:

    I’ve seen this movie 50 times in my life and always considered it my favorite movie. Just tonight I was watching it and thought, wait a minute, I think they’re gay. It was so obvious in the scene where Rugen is headed into the dungeon. So I googled to see if anyone else thought this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lauren Craig says:

    I’m watching it right now and I wondered “why did he kill her? She’s nice and pretty and such,” and then I thought OH. He doesn’t care about having a wife.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Emily says:

    So true! Was just watching it and realized, hey they seem to be quite fond of each other!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Daisy says:

    Dude– I googled it at the part where Tyrone is walking down to the dungeon. Humperdinck is like, “you know how much I like to watch you work”. WINK WINK WIGGLE WIGGLE.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynn says:

    I am watching it right now and I had to look it up because I was thinking the same thing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

