Funky Reading Time

My son has joined a reading club at school, to increase / improve his French. He’s committed to reading 15 min a night for the next several weeks, and is tracking how long it takes him to read a book for his teacher.

I miss reading every night for my own pleasure. I put a goal on my Goodreads to read 25 books this year, and so far I’ve only read 5. I’m halfway through one right now, but I find that at the end of a day, my impulse to lose myself in a book is curtailed by exhaustion. I used to read every night, when I was younger. During dinner. In the bathroom. So what happened?

And how do I change it back?

I’ve started by stacking my to-read list, which is close to 50 now, and putting all of the print books I have bought in the last year but have yet to read next to my bed. If I’m too tired, or my husband is trying to sleep, that’s okay. It’s a step.

We’re looking at buying a “cuddle” chair — a lovely big round chair that I can curl up in completely with a good book and a cup of tea. I have problems getting comfortable on our couch or our loveseat, simply because I’m tall. I would love to have a designated “reading corner” with this cuddle chair, next to my plant stand. There is enough room under and among the plants to stack a number of to-be-reads, store my Kobo, and so on. I’m anticipating, too, that composing my own fiction would be nice in a big round comfy chair.

Imagine being curled up with a good book and a cup of tea in this lovely chair...

Imagine being curled up with a good book and a cup of tea in this lovely chair…

I can imagine my dog wanting to enjoy it, too. And maybe children fighting over it.

Of course, I realize that I don’t really need a new comfy place to sit in order to lose myself in a book. Maybe it’s that I haven’t been really grabbed by anything in the last two weeks. It could be part of my annual SAD, the exhaustion of work getting in the way, or parenting itself. I get awfully grumpy when I am disturbed in the middle of a good read, so I don’t like to sink into a book when my children are still up and needing attention. On the other hand, it’s good for them to see me reading, and I take the time to read with them, as well. (And then I end up getting grumpy when one of them interrupts with questions. “No book for you! Come back, 1 day!” [50 points if you can name the pop culture reference here, lol]

Strangely, I’m not really one for audio books, either. I’ve tried, but again, interruptions make me angry. Like being caught on a swing in mid-curve, or being jolted out of a daydream, jostled when getting in line or hitting an unexpected pothole while riding a bike. I guess maybe that’s why I’ve been avoiding reading lately. When I get into a book, I want to read it for hours. Finish it in one go, if I can. As a parent, I don’t get to do that. It’s a bit frustrating.

So, dear friends, what do you do when reading is in a rut? How do you get out of your funk? What books do you turn to for escape? And, do you have a special place for reading? What are you reading, right now?

Tonight, I shall resume my reading of Stained, by Ella James. And maybe finish it by the weekend.

Hopefully, anyway!

2 thoughts on “Funky Reading Time

  1. tarafoxhall says:

    I write LOL. I’ll send you my newest, A Good Year. A little Lash, Dev and Shaker should snap you out of your funk!

    Like

Leave a Reply

