My Writing Process Blog Tour

Image
Thank you Tara Fox Hall for involving me in this blog tour! *raises virtual glass of Shiraz in salute*

1) What am I working on?

At the moment, I’m caught between guest posts and interviews regarding Wind and Shadow (the Talbot Trilogy, Book One), my debut novel, and preparing to release my second novel, Blood and Fire. I’m also working on completing the third and final book in the series, Crystal and Wand. In the middle of all of this, my brain likes to tease me with other story ideas that I try to jot down when I can.
2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Its unconventional plots and lack of predictability. My characters appear to be following the usual formulas, at first, but they continually surprise my readers (and me) by taking the action we least expect or even want. I rather think of my stories as responses or answers to the work of others, taking alternative paths and new points of view. 
3) Why do I write what I do?
The stories simply won’t leave me alone. It’s very satisfying to get them out of my head, and extremely enjoyable when someone else reads them and tells me how much he/she was caught up in the words. I’m interested in exploring the paranormal, the human condition, and love, in all of its forms (positive and negative), and writing helps me to do that as well. 
4) How does your writing process work?
I jot down summaries, plot ideas, character concepts, and file them until I have a chance to go back through and see what kickstarts detail. Sometimes I write in notebooks, but more often I use my laptop as I can’t always write as fast as my brain wants me to, but I do enjoy the comfort of a pen. I try to create plot graphs and lists of things to include, but often the characters take over the story for me and I’m just along for the ride. I like listening to music while I write as well, and compiling playlists during and after the composing of the story. And I prefer writing at night, when it’s quiet and dark and there are few distractions. 
The last bit of this blog is to pass onto the next three writers the challenge to keep it going! I nominate Rob Fuller, Mysti Parker, and David Margetson!
Leave a Reply

