ogres are like onions . . . and so are writers

Some days, my writing is crap. We all go through this. Writers build their stories layer by layer, using experience, research, imagination, and maniacal cackling to find plot twists and character development. But a lot of the time, it’s just crap until you find that golden moment of clarity. 

Sometimes that golden moment comes weeks or months after finishing a piece, though, after all the drafting and editing is done.

I had that moment the other day, when I was doing the final proofing of Crystal and Wand. I discovered that I’m damned proud of that book, and that series as a whole. And unlike many stories I’ve started since I was old enough to compose, it’s not crap. I found myself smiling as I was reading it through, thinking, “Holy shit — this worked out! It sounds good!” 

And of course I immediately felt enomously guilty for being immodest. 

But I do like my upcoming release — no, I love it. I love how it completes the tales of my characters’ lives, but lets them continue on, as well. I love the answers I found to the questions that had been plaguing me from the beginning about their fates, particularly my vampire Malcolm de Sade. I love the twists that I didn’t see coming. 

The Talbot Trilogy as a whole started off with an idea of a vampire who’d been trapped underground in a collapsed and abandoned mine under a small town, and when he gets released, he immediately starts wreaking havoc on the citizens. I drew on my love for old-school vampire films, like The Lost Boys and Dracula and 30 Days of Night, and some of it is an homage to my favourite vampire authors, Stephen King and Anne Rice. But I also wanted to explore romance in the way that Nora Roberts writes, with couples learning to love and depend on each other for strength against a difficult foe. And in the middle of all of that, I wanted to respond to Twilight, which I both adore and criticize as modern vampire/romance fiction. I admire Bella and Edward, and I see the romance, but I also despise some of her decisions and wish that there had been at least one witch in the Twilight Saga. So, in the Talbot Trilogy, there are two, and the decisions my witches make during their tempestuous relationships (occasionally with vampires) are vastly different from Bella’s choices. 

  
I’m going to start promoting the release of Book Three: Crystal and Wand because for those of you who have already enjoyed Books One and Two, Wind and Shadow and Blood and Fire, I want to share with you the finale of the series — I’m hoping you’ll be as taken and satisfied with the final installment as I have been in the writing and re-reading of it. And if you haven’t yet picked up the second book, Blood and Fire, or the first, Wind and Shadow, or looked at the prequel novella, Mist and Midnight, now is the perfect time to begin the story. It’s an urban fantasy in three parts, gritty and horrible and romantic and sensual. It’s for fans of horror romance, for lovers of shows like Lost Girl, and the series is definitely 18+. 

Please accept this post as your invitation into the beginning of the end of my journey with the Talbot Trilogy!

Leave a Reply

