Book Review: Alice Hearts Welsh Zombies, by Victoria Dunn

 

First, a little backstory: I’m wandering through Ottawa ComicCon and I see a booth with a) zombie fic, b) a free offer to zombify one’s face, and c) crocheted Doctor Who dolls. So of course I have to stop and chat! The team at the booth, including the authors who are the combined authoring awesomeness of Victoria Dunn, were very sweet and genuine, and although I didn’t buy the book right away (partly due to a raging con headache) I eventuallly returned to the booth the next day to not only get zombified on a pin (I now carry it on my purse)  

 

and buy the 1st Doctor in crocheted glory,  

 

but also pick up an autographed (and personalized) copy of the book for myself.  

image1

Such the power of the personal touch at a convention, folks — reach out and you will get a response!

It did take me a while to get to reading the book, though, between one thing and another. But a week or two ago, I decided to make Alice Hearts Welsh Zombies my first summer read, and I’m so very glad I did. Especially before my daughter decided to use my copy as a hard surface for drawing with sharpies . . . grrr. I like my books pristine, people!!!!

Dunn’s comedic take on the zombie genre is snarky, self-reflective, delicious fun. The characters are original — I adored Alice, the former telephone psychic in charge of assisting and protecting the tall and handsome paranormal-investigator-with-magical/biological-enhancements, Welly. They work for Odyssey International, a secret organization that combines the magic of Harry Potter with Time Lord technology and the devices of the CIA/FBI/NSA/Hammas to detect risks to humanity and restore or maintain the balance. Alice is still trying to work out her place in the organization, and her relationship with her partner, and her flashbacks and recollections of her recruitment (something about being rescued from certain death at Niagara Falls and signing her life away) and her early days in Odyssey are so funny, I definitely need to know more about her backstory. (Ahem another book please, soon, Ms. Dunn?)

But Alice and Welly aren’t the only characters that make this story such a delightful romp: Ken, the pro-zombie head of Odyssey’s mailroom, stalwartly defends his friend Dave (his heterosexual life partner and nose-enhanced zombie) as a help in investigating zombie outbreaks. Sadly, Dave doesn’t always prove to be as helpful as Ken would hope . . . And then, rounding off the group charged with halting a zombie outbreak at the World Bog Snorkelling Championships in Wales is the expert in magical science, Mick. I ❤ Mick. Mick is awesome. Mick is outrageous. Mick loves excitement and intrigue, fashion and fame . . . I seriously need a Mick action figure. He needs a music video. He’s that amazing.

Oh — they’ve got one! Well, strictly speaking, Victoria Dunn has a book trailer, but it is PERFECT for this book. In fact, I am jealous of it in all ways. Take a look!

And look at their website, too! It’s AWESOME!

Honestly, I love the whole concept of turning a book into a more interactive experience like this. And the way they’ve done it completely suits the genre and story of this novel.

But back to the story specifically — again, it’s original and it’s fun. If you’re a fan of Chuck (Zachary Levi, Yvonne Strahovski, that Baldwin guy), or the Evil Dead series (more <3s for Bruce Campbell!), then this book is definitely one that you need to add to your reading list today. I devoured it in four hours, honestly. Dunn has a terrific talent for throwing wrenches into what should have been a fairly standard mission. There are plot twists and turns that had me thoroughly engaged over and over again.

Refreshing and witty, this novel has fantastic comic timing and I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

