Road trip! 

  
 Months after first introducing the teenager to the idea of space camp at the Cosmodôme in Montreal, we have completed the first leg of the journey! 

  
Tonight we are staying at my parents’ house, an hour and a half south of home, and tomorrow morning he and I will set off early for the 8 hour drive. Meanwhile, his little sister will stay with her Poppa and Grandma for the week while he’s at camp, and I get to visit my dear friend Tara only four hous away from the city!

  
So I’m going to be across the border hanging out in the world of Latham’s Landing for the release of Crystal and Wand next week, which means I’ll put the online release party together the week after.

I’m wondering whether it might be possible to write a whole new novel over the course of my five days (four plus a bit) of away-vacation. I know that some people can do it in 72 hours (there’s actually a contest every September for that!), so theoretically it’s possible. But I also need to use some time to start contacting reviewers who previously read Wind and Shadow (and Blood and Fire, some of them) to inquire if they would like to see how the story of Ravyn and Charlotte ends. That’s going to require coordinating and comparing my past emails with the records of the reviews on Goodreads and blogs, a job that would be much easier if I had my laptop (little tear) . . . Still, a journey is like a journey is like a project — each begins one step at a time. Or, in my case, one email at a time, in the company of a friend (and within the limits of my data plan).

So for those of you who have read the first book(s) of The Talbot Trilogy and given me a review, I thank you so, so much for your patience! I hope to be in contact with each of you lovely reviewers within the next few weeks. It’s time for the cliffhangers to end, the answers to be revealed, and the final battles won! 

  

Leave a Reply

