Shocking Moment: I CLEANED MY KITCHEN!

Yes, you read that right. I cleaned my kitchen tonight. 

At first, I struggled with it. The usual roundabout with guilt, inability to start, plus feeling tired and that there was no point to trying. 

But then I thought, I’m sick of looking at that crap. I want to wake up to clean counters and ready dishes! And then, I think, my dinner kicked in. And I got up, lit some candles for energy and put on my tunes (80s mix), and unbelievably, I got it done. My kitchen table is cleared off. All the dishes, save one pot soaking and a gross and greasy frying pan I’m doing tomorrow, are done. Recycling is ready. I even cleaned out my fridge, since it’s garbage day tomorrow! 

I know. I’m as shocked as you are. 

And what’s more: the kids are still washing their own plates. Bridget dirties and leaves the most, we find, and often washes them under protest, but yesterday I was able to get her to do a bulk washing with the promise of attending a community event. Progress!!!

So I’m going to bed feeling more positive tonight, most definitely. I want to organize the pantry tomorrow (I hate it — HATE!! — that canned goods are mixed with bags of pasta and boxes of dry goods!), and continue the battle against the clutter. Could it be that I’ve crossed the hump in the transition from summer vacation to working days at last? Have I found my groove again? 

Please, let it be true . . . I like this feeling of being productive and seeing results!

2 thoughts on “Shocking Moment: I CLEANED MY KITCHEN!

  1. tarafoxhall says:

    Congrats! Yay!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

