The Deep Satisfaction of the Back . . .

. . . cover. 

Yes, there are other backs that are also lovely and enticing to behold. Like this one:

  
And this one:

  
Yeesh, do you know how hard it is to find decent shots of people’s backs? And they’re one of my favourite body parts! 

But I’m digressing in my search for appropriate illustrations. This is about back covers. Like this: 

  
No, wait, sorry, I meant THIS:

  
I finished covering the back of my Necronomicon and put the fan on it — after almost 24 hours, the front bottom still had some dampness. So I turned it upside down before starting on the “skin”.

It’s satisfying when you look at the back of anything and see that it got as much (or more) attention as the front. Because when you finish the story, it’s the last thing you might look at. For some, it’s also the first — you might go right from perusing the blurb on the rear (or looking for it there) to diving into the first page. It gives an impression of wholeness, a job done properly and thoroughly. Quality vs knock-off.

I like movie credits with surprises and Easter eggs and hidden scenes. Trains with cabooses. Covers tucked in at the bottom. Okay, maybe that last one isn’t really a back issue, but it’s all about balance, folks.

For writers, seeing the back cover of your own book is particularly thrilling, because it unequivocally indicates the end of the project. It’s just as or more fulfilling as writing “the end” on the last page of your draft. Bitter-sweet, actually.

What brings on all of this is that I am debating whether to do NaNoWriMo again this year. I’d be starting right after the end of the Haunted House. I want that satisfaction of working toward and seeing another back cover, but I also see more exhaustion on the horizon. I worry about taking on too much. 

But the thing about NaNo is that it is for me. I can change my word count. Write on my own time. 

On the other hand, I recall last year wanting to sleep for a week after the event ended and was cleaned up. 

It’s a tough decision to make, and time is ticking.

2 thoughts on “The Deep Satisfaction of the Back . . .

  1. tarafoxhall says:

    Wait till 10/29 to make a decision? If you do it, I’ll partner with you for moral support! I’ve got a WIP that needs action 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

