NaNoWriMo (lack of) progress

I don’t think I’ve ever been this far behind in NaNoWriMo before, at least not this early in the game. I have faint ideas, and an outline I developed this summer, but am lacking the energy tonight to pursue it. What’s likely going to happen is that I will start relaxing and falling asleep, and then the brain cells will start firing and I will end up writing at an obscene hour again, especially considering that a new approach has been nagging at me since yesterday. 

Also, I think I should write this mantra on my wall, to tape it to my tablet: Tell yourself the story first. I keep bogging down in wondering whether anyone else will like it. That kind of thinking stood in the way of a lot of my progress with the Talbot Trilogy, but in the end, it was telling myself what I enjoyed reading, giving myself the story, letting it flow that got the writing done. (Shameless plug: if you haven’t picked up Wind and Shadow, Blood and Fire, and/or Crystal and Wand yet, why the heck not? Supernatural creatures, blood and gore, lust and sex, magick and the powers of good and evil — what’s not to love?) So I have to keep telling myself that. After I’ve gotten at least a little bit of sleep. Have to get up at 4:30 to fetch Hubby from work, tomorrow.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo (lack of) progress

  1. tarafoxhall says:

    I have done 0. Don’t feel badly!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

