The End is the Beginning

Went to bed after the countdown and the kids blew their horns. I’m not much for New Year’s celebrations, not really. 

Instead, I spent yesterday evening cleaning, just here and there. I sorted and purged my sewing boxes, flattened boxes for recycling, found a container to hold completed blanket squares, watched Doctor Who for a while and then put on movies when the boy said our use of Netflix was causing his game to lag.

The end of the year doesn’t feel all that significant to me. It’s an arbitrary date that has become a tradition in Western society. We have another midwinter party, people drink and eat and are festive, and then turn the calendar page.

But I get it. We need the sense of renewal and moving forward. 

Not setting any resolutions for myself. I’m just carrying on with trying to be better. 

2 thoughts on “The End is the Beginning

Leave a Reply

